top of page

Agency Overview

Bradley County is in the southeast portion of Tennessee, located just few miles north of the Chattanooga city limits.  Our county contains the City of Cleveland and the City of Charleston.  Bradley County borders Murray County, GA; Whitfield County, GA; Hamilton County, TN; Meigs County, TN; McMinn County, TN; and Polk County, TN. 

The Bradley County Sheriff's Office was established in 1836.  We are a mid-sized agency, composed of over 200 positions, serving a population of approximately 111,000 residents.  Our patrol division is responsible for covering 336 square miles of land and approximately 30 miles of waterway along the Hiwassee River.  They respond to 60,000 - 70,000 calls for service per year.  Patrol Division calls can range from minor traffic collisions to medical first-response to hostage situations.  The Bradley County Jail is a 200,000 square foot facility, capable of housing 510 inmates.  


Employee Count:  211

  • Civilian positions: 18

  • TCI positions: 82

  • POST positions:  111

Call Volume:  60,000 - 70,000 per year​

Max Correctional Facility Occupancy:  510

bradley county map transparent background.png

7 Divisions | 1 Agency

Administration  -  Communications - Corrections  -  Criminal Investigations - Judicial Services -  Patrol  -  Support Services 

Man Signing


The BCSO Administrative Division is made up of civilian and TCI certified personnel.  They oversee building maintenance, fleet management and garage operations, auctions, the public service unit, employee interviews and onboarding.


Our Correctional Division keeps the community safe by maintaining the discipline of inmates while housed in our facility.  They also assist with courtroom and courthouse security, oversee inmate education programs, transport inmates, and control visitation and workhouse operations. 


Criminal Investigations

The Criminal Investigations Division is made up both POST Certified Officers as well as civilian personnel and consist of the following investigative units:  property crimes, persons crimes, narcotics, forensics, fugitive recovery and intelligence.

Judicial Services

The Judicial Services Division is made up of POST Certified Officers and civilian personnel.  This division is responsible for the security and protection at three court locations: Downtown Courthouse, Juvenile Court, and the Judicial Complex.  They also carry out civil process management, civil process service, warrant management and attorney visits.

In court


The Communications Division is a hidden network of gurus maintaining technology systems such as: servers, computers, body and in-car cameras, reporting and tracking software systems.  This team is also responsible for departmental website and social media content creation, public and media relations, events, grant writing, TIBRS reporting, and other special projects.  See also: Internal Affairs.


Support Services

The Support Services Division oversees evidence management, court liaison services, neighborhood watch programs, citizens academy, handgun carry classes, church security programs, environmental investigations, litter pickup and other organizational events.


The patrol division is made up of four, 12-person teams, a crash investigation unit, K9's and 19 school resource officers.  All patrol deputies are POST certified. 

In addition to standardized patrol duties, the patrol division also consists of waterway patrol capabilities,  a crisis negotiations team, a SWAT team and Honor Guard.

IMG_E0989 (3)_edited.jpg
bottom of page